Eddie and Bingo is a child’s storybook with a powerful moral

Parents, I’ve observed, are grateful for teaching moments. Here’s a child’s book, filled with illustrations, that creates exactly that.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/images/1592995586/ref=dp_image_text_0?
ie=UTF8&n=283155&s=books

A little while ago, a cat became trapped in a wall of the Dallas animal shelter. Neither the manager nor the employees and volunteers took action. The cat cried and scratched. Eventually, it died. Reading this made me sick.

That day, the Taylor’s book arrived. As I read it, I kept thinking of my great-niece who turned one this summer and who, in a few months, will be ready for Aunt Robin to read her a story. Eddie and Bingo will be on the top of the stack of books because it does teach a moral. I want my niece to have strong morals. I want my niece to grow up with the strength and courage that, own her own and without approval, she would free a cat or rescue Bingo. I want her to know the satisfaction of finding a win/win solution.

Eddie and Bingo is all about knowing the right way will find the winning solution.

Tomorrow the discussion opens. Please join in.

This entry was posted in books.

9 comments on “Eddie and Bingo is a child’s storybook with a powerful moral

  1. This is a great messgae for kids!

    • Kat T. says:

      Thanks Thiskidreviewsbooks! We do think it has good moral messages on a few fronts. Kids really do need to see people doing kind things for others and especially kindness to animals as they can be vunerable. It also shows a different side to our great men and women of our military.

  2. Kat Taylor says:

    Thanks so much Sheri for the kind words! Hope to see you published soon too!

  3. Melissa says:

    Thanks, Kat & Katherine — I like the “based on a real life story,” concept. Makes it possible to do things that might not have occurred to Ed while he was telling it. I’m glad he lived to know the story was being written.

    • Kat Taylor says:

      Yes Melissa! We were thrilled he actually gave us the “2 Thumbs Up!” I still wish he could have seen it completed! But my dad was such a humble guy-things work out the way they do for reasons we don’t always understand! The name of the Captain in the book is Drew named after my oldest son and Eddie’s Navy buddy Gavin is named after my youngest son. Alot of the drawings of the are named after people we know or have been inspired by them…

      • Sheri D. Ward says:

        I too wish your father could have seen your book completed, Kathleen…that part is such a shame. However, I do believe that he is smiling down on you and yours, and that he’s VERY proud of what you both have done.

  4. Kat Taylor says:

    Hi Mellisa,
    That is a good question…it is considered “based on a true story”, because some of the names of the characters have been changed. And this story has been retold by me “Eddie’s daughter-Kathleen and my mother-in -law Katherine they way in which my father told it to me. The answer to the second part of your question is -yes-it does give a final solution to Bingo story-but -and there always is one- Eddie and Bingo do cross paths again- but that could be an issue for another story…This book can stand on it’s own.

  5. Our book is a story based on a real life story. Kathleen’s father (Eddie) would tell the story of Bingo to his children as a bedtime story. Eddie always said to Kathleen that she should tell Bingo’s story one day. Ed knew we were working on telling the story but he passed away before the book was finished. Bingo’s story does end on a positive note.

  6. Melissa says:

    Is the book nonfiction or fiction “based on” the real life story? Either way — does it give a final resolution to Bingo’s story?

Comments are closed.