Eddie and Bingo

Hi all, this past weekend was Story Masters with Donald Maass, Chris Vogler and James Scott Bell. All I can say is WOW! I’m ready to tackle the revision. The conference did cause a bit of a problem, my post went into space and never came through. So, trying again.

This month features Kathleen and Katherine Taylor and their children’s book.

Aw, he’s so cute.

This entry was posted in books.

24 comments on “Eddie and Bingo

  1. This true story demonstrates the kindness of one man, a dog …….and even our Armed Forces………..it shows that yes, … there really is good and kindness in the world. If you really want to feel good – read the book!

    • debutauthors says:

      Hesitation has been the name of my game this week. I’m waffling because of an article in the Dallas Morning News (DMN) this week about how the courts failed a defenseless cat. Now that the subject is open I’ll post about it. This beautiful and compassionate story of Eddie and Bingo is a stark contrast to the article in the DMN. First, I’ll have to assemble the article so you guys can easily read the copy. Probably, I’ll cry again so it may take a bit.

    • Kat Taylor says:

      Thanks Tara! It is the little acts of kindness that go a long way! They really can make a difference!

  2. Luree says:

    Is this photo of Bingo (cleverly disguised as a devoted photographer) on the cover of your book, Kathleen and Katherine? If so, I can’t imagine anyone not grabbing a copy off the bookseller’s book shelf! He is adorable and an obvious magnet into what promises to be a delightful chronicle of friendship between dog and man. I would love to know more of his story, for example how he ended up as a possible stowaway on that aircraft carrier. I’m just sorry I have yet to have the privilege of this read…

    • debutauthors says:

      The book doesn’t say. Any speculations, ladies? Did Eddie ever say?

      • My guess is that some sailor, far from home, found a stray pup and decided they both needed someone to make them a home. Bingo managed to get spirited onboard in a duffle bag with only his little snout sticking out. His new owner would save food from the mess hall to feed Bingo and other sailors, when they found out about the pup, made an extra effort to make sure he wasn’t discovered.

        One day, the nosy pup made a dash and ended up on the flight deck where he was found by Eddie. Maybe it was like Moses being “found” by the pharoh’s daughter when he was hidden in the rushes. The sailors could enjoy the company of Bingo while Bingo enjoyed the protection of Eddie.

      • Kat Taylor says:

        All I know is ,as Eddie (my dad) would say ,”I didn’t find Bingo -Bingo found me”. He did spy Bingo on the deck of the carrier… he did not know how the pup got there. But they were soon after- bonded! He and the other sailors considered Bingo their little Gaurdian at sea!

    • Kat Taylor says:

      Thanks for your comments Luree! Eddie was the photographer and Bingo really enjoyed getting into his gear! He also loved being the center of so much attention! He would often sit really still whenever my dad brought out his camera-like he “knew how to pose”.

  3. TQ says:

    Gosh, I can’t wait to read this book! Bingo looks like a sweetie and I’m sure he did wonders for morale on Eddie’s ship! Thanks to all our vets, past & present for their valuable service!

  4. I’m a pushover for a cute puppy and Bingo looks a great deal like a part beagle pup I had for over 16 years. What a charmer he was. I can’t wait to read Bingo’s story (oh yeah. and Eddie’s too).

    • Kat T. says:

      Thanks Billye! I am not sure exactly what type of mix he is-but I do agree he looks like he could be part beagle! The camera around his neck in the photo was my dads…

  5. Kat T. says:

    On a side note Robin ,please feel free to post my dad’s navy picture. It would be a nice way to pay tribute to him this Veteran’s Day!

  6. Kat T. says:

    Our book is ” Eddie and Bingo: A Friendship Tale”. It is based on a true story…
    about my dad (Eddie!)….He served in the U.S. Navy during the Korean War…as a photographer’s mate 1st class. I would like to take a minute to Thank All who serve PAST and PRESENT in our U.S. Armed Forces . Our Warmest Regards and Best Wishes for our Veterans and their families, our Allies as well-for a wonderful Veterans Day! We as civilians cannot Thank You all enough for your Courage and especially for your sacrifices for all our freedoms! God Bless!

  7. Thanks Laurel-Kathleen and I are really glad you enjoyed our book. Thanks for the kind words!

  8. Laurel Bedingfield Arnett says:

    This is an incredible and touching story. It reiterates the fact that a single soul, even a doggy, can make a world of difference. It’s a must read!

  9. As writers I think we can all appreciate that it would be difficult to read every author’s book-but we also can appreciate this forum! I think this is a great way to get the word out about new authors and their books! So thank you! Katherine and I am sure you will be a Debut Author!

  10. Melissa says:

    Cute puppy! Is that a book character?

    • Robin Yaklin says:

      The dog is Bingo and, yes, he is the cutest little chap. Can you imagine having him onboard a military ship? I think he would have made everyone smile.

    • Bingo was a little pup that my dad found on the deck of an aircraft carrier!

      • Robin Yaklin says:

        Oh, good tease, Kathleen! I deliberately didn’t post the picture of your dad because he’s so good looking, the quintessential cocky and buff sailor, that he would have upstaged Bingo. At least that’s my opinion. We’ll see what everyone else thinks.

  11. E A M Harris says:

    The picture’s gorgeous. Did you like the book? I find it difficult to express an opinion of children’s books.

    • Robin Yaklin says:

      First-time authors need a way to develop a following, to create word of mouth advertising. And, they need it to happen with little or no expense. Most of the authors who have appeared on this site will confirm that promotional budgets are slim or non-existent. I’m doing what I can to help because someday I hope to be a debut author. This is my way of paying it forward. That is the underlying information. The answer to your question is I haven’t read every one of the books. I couldn’t and still do my own writing and the necessary reading that accompanies that work. Although I do vet the authors to make sure their book isn’t X-rated. A subjective issue, don’t you think? I’m saying I make a good-hearted attempt. What I think of subject or the writer’s craft are other matters and ones on which I will remain silent. My hope is once you’ve been exposed to an author you will research him/her and take a look at the book.

Comments are closed.